Derrick Hodge


American bassist, composer, and music producer.
Known as a hybrid bassist as well as a solo artist, Derrick has performed and recorded with various artists including Common, Q-Tip (rapper), Kanye West, Timbaland, Jill Scott, Mos Def, Musiq Soulchild, Floetry, Gerald Levert, The Experiment Band (with Robert Glasper, Chris Dave, and Casey Benjamin), Anthony Hamilton, James Moore, Donnie McClurkin, Grammy award winning classical composer Osvaldo Golijov, and others. He has also toured and recorded with jazz artists including Clark Terry, Mulgrew Miller, Terell Stafford, and Terence Blanchard. He appeared on and composed for the extremely successful albums of the latter, Flow, and A Tale of God’s Will (A Requiem for Katrina) (2007), which were nominated for a total of 4 Grammy Awards, winning one for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album. He also appeared on rapper Common's albums Be and Finding Forever, which also won a Grammy Award, playing bass and producing two tracks.

official page

картинка, оставленная пользователем

Derrick Hodge — Live Today (2013)

картинка, оставленная пользователем


Live Today signals a new journey for bassist and composer Derrick Hodge as he embarks on a solo recording career. Even though Hodge has played with such jazz titans as pianist Mulgrew Miller and trumpeter Terence Blanchard, as well as R&B stars Jill Scott and Maxwell, the 33-year-old bassist is probably best known for anchoring the GRAMMY® award-winning Robert Glasper Experiment. Similar to how Glasper concocts a distinctive melange of modern jazz, hip-hop, and R&B, Live Today too integrates those genres and more into something that’s potent and personal. Live Today asserts a unique sound.

The title alludes to his top guiding principle in creating his debut album, a stunning achievement that showcases the profound depth and breadth of his musicality. Glasper does contribute on several songs on Live Today, as do the rest of the Experiment members: saxophonist/vocoderist Casey Benjamin, and drummers Chris Dave and Mark Colenburg. Hodge, however, cast a wider net for recruiting musicians. The diverse cast includes rapper Common, singer/guitarist Alan Hampton, keyboardists James Poyser and Aaron Parks, saxophonist Marcus Strickland, trumpeter Keyon Harrold, and the American String Quartet, among others.

01. The Real – 5:08
02. Table Jawn – 1:24
03. Message Of Hope – 4:55
04. Boro March – 4:49
05. Live Today (feat. Common) – 4:16
06. Dances With Ancestors – 5:43
07. Anthem In 7 – 3:45
08. Still The One – 4:44
09. Holding Onto You (feat. Alan Hampton) – 4:50
10. Solitude – 5:56
11. Rubberband – 1:24
12. Gritty Folk – 5:41
13. Doxology (I Remember) – 4:32
14. Night Visions – 2:20

mp3 320 kbps, 140.10 Mb

Это сообщение отредактировал frogjab - 07.08.13 в 19:52
CD версия, mp3 320 kbps:

Скрытый текст / Hidden text
сверху HDTracks версия
Спасибо огромное. Респектую и шлю мессадж дальше
Anybody? The Second
картинка, оставленная пользователем
картинка, оставленная пользователем

Derrick Hodge - The Second [2016]

01. The Second
02. Transitions
03. Song 3
04. You Believed
05. World Go Round
06. Heart of a Dreamer
07. Underground Rhapsody
08. Clock Strike Zero
09. For Generations
10. Don Blue
11. Going
12. From Me to You


Этот топик читают:

4 ответов с 07.08.13 в 19:48
Назад в Jazz/Blues/Country/Soul/Funk